loader image
Skip to main content

2021 Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees

By September 9, 2021CCMA News








September 9th, 2021 (Toronto, ON) — The Canadian Country Music Association® (CCMA) is proud to announce that Patricia Conroy and Randy Stark have been selected as the 2021 inductees into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame™.

“I was so thrilled to learn that Patricia and Randy are to be inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame this year,” said Amy Jeninga, President, CCMA. “They have both been trailblazers throughout their careers and I look forward to celebrating this career milestone as a part of Country Music Week this year.”

A 7-time CCMA Award winner, Patricia Conroy’s illustrious career began in Montreal as a member of her family band, The Shamrock Ceili Band. Influenced by her mother’s Maritime country background and her father’s Irish roots, Conroy’s distinct sound laid the foundation for her 6 studio albums, 7 JUNO Award nominations, 5 #1 CMT videos and 8 career #1 singles.

Throughout her musical career, songwriting has always been an integral part of Conroy’s success. From her debut album Blue Angel, written largely herself, it became apparent songwriting was in her blood. She went on to craft hits like “Direction of Love,” “Keep Me Rockin,” “Bad Day for Trains,” “I Don’t Wanna Be the One” and many more. Touring extensively throughout her career, Conroy has also spent a great deal of her life sharing her incredible talents with others. In the past decade alone, she has lent her award-winning songwriting skills to artists such as Jimmy Rankin (The Rankin Family), Michelle Wright,​​ Reba McEntire, Trisha Yearwood and Lady A, proving her position as one of Canada’s top female artists and songwriters.

“This is such a magical moment in my career,” expressed Conroy. “I’m full of emotion and beyond grateful for this incredible honour. So looking forward to celebrating with everyone in person this November!!”

With more than 5 decades of industry experience, Randy Stark has been credited with building some of Canada’s biggest country careers. Beginning his work at London Records in Calgary (1972), Stark went on to hold positions at a handful of labels, including A&M Records and GRT, before landing at Warner Music Canada in 1980. Here, Stark earned the title of VP, Marketing and Promotion where he was responsible for a country roster that included George Fox, Paul Brandt, Patricia Conroy, The Johner Brothers and alt-country icons Blue Rodeo. During his tenure at Warner Music Canada these acts alone accounted for over 2.5 million units sold, 13 JUNO Awards, 15 CCMA Awards, 33 Top 10 singles, 10 #1 singles, 11 BCCMA Awards and 17 SCMA Awards.

Acting as both CCMA Director (1997-2003) and CCMA President (2000-2002), Stark has always believed strongly in the potential of independent artists. Launching Stark Ravings Management in 2000, Stark provided career management for Canadian artists Jason Blaine, Diane Chase, Jake Mathews and Kylee Epp, working with longtime friend Ed Harris to manage the early careers of Aaron Pritchett and Lisa Hewitt. Over the course of its history, Stark Ravings Management earned more than 30 Top 10 singles for independent artists in addition to dozens of client nominations for various CCMA Awards.

Owning and operating his own radio charting service (Trax Report, 2007-2018), Stark also played a recognizable role in the radio careers of artists such as Deric Ruttan, Gord Bamford, Bobby Wills, Michelle Wright, Aaron Pritchett and Clayton Bellamy, among others. His dedication to providing Canadian artists with an international stage was evident in his roles as Australian Contemporary Country Music Coalition Director (2001-2003), CMA Nashville Director (2001-2003) and as a valued consultant for CMT Canada (2002-2003).

Joining the Country Music Association of Ontario Board of Directors in 2012, Stark has spent the duration of his career behind the scenes, building opportunities for artists at all levels of their careers.

“I’m honoured to be chosen as this year’s inductee into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame, Builder category,” said Stark. “For me, it’s never been about personal recognition or accolades, I simply tried to do the best I could for my artists and clients. To be recognized by my peers and the Canadian Country Music industry is a very humbling experience and I shall accept this award with all of you in mind.”

Inductees of the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame are chosen annually by a selected Hall of Fame Electors Committee, composed of over seventy (70) industry peers. The next three-stage voting process will take place March — May 2022. The inductee in the Builder category receives the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame Stan Klees Builder Award, established in recognition of RPM Magazine co-founder, Mr. Stan Klees, and his pioneering efforts in the creation of the CCMA Awards Program.

The Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place during Country Music Week 2021 in London, ON from November 26 — 29, 2021.





Established in 1976, the CCMA is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization committed to the promotion and recognition of Canadian country music. Built upon the foundation to educate, elevate and celebrate Canadian talent, the CCMA progressively heralds the spirit, community and creativity that country music fosters through year-round initiatives, culminating every fall with Country Music Week and the Canadian Country Music Association Awards. Sponsors of Country Music Week and the 2021 CCMA Awards Show include FACTOR, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage’s “Canada Music Fund”, Radio Starmaker and the Government of Ontario.